Biological Sciences Faculty and Staff

Graduation


Department Chair - Mr. Matthew Mahrt

Assistant Chairs - Dr. Rhett Michelson and Dr. Lois Merkler

Faculty and Staff


Department chair   /   Emeritus faculty   /   Staff   /   Part-time Faculty
Aulner
Dwane Aulner
Professor
M.S., University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Charleston H-201-C
(702) 651-7502
dwane.aulner@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Laboratory coordinator: BIOL 223, 224
BIOL 223, Human Anatomy and Physiology I
BIOL 224, Human Anatomy and Physiology II
bennett
Mary Bennett
Professor
(702) 651-7443
Cheyenne S-206-I
mary.bennett@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 223, Human Anatomy and Physiology I
BIOL 224, Human Anatomy and Physiology II
BIOL 251, General Microbiology
Djuricin
Sonja Burd
Instructor
Ph.D., University of California, Irvine
Cheyenne S-206-J
(702) 651-4402
sonja.burd@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 196L, Principles of Modern Biology I Laboratory
charlet
David Charlet
Professor
Ph.D., University of Nevada, Reno
Henderson C-200-C
(702) 651-3139
david.charlet@csn.edu email

webpage
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 101, General Biology for Non Majors
BIOL 113, Life in the Oceans
BIOL 120, Plants and People
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 220, Introduction to Ecological Principles
BIOL 299, Selected Topics in Biology
ENV 101, Introduction to Environmental Science.
Collumb
Christopher Collumb
Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Cheyenne S221-C
(702) 651-4177
christopher.collumb@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Laboratory coordinator: 113
BIOL 095, Basic Biology
BIOL 101, General Biology for Non Majors
BIOL 113, Life in the Oceans
Cortes
Marcela Cortes
Instructor
Ph.D., University of Illinois
Charleston I 309-M
(702) 651-7520
marcela.cortes@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Laboratory coordinator: BIOL 189
BIOL 095, Basic Biology
BIOL 121, Nutrition
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 196, Principles of Modern Biology I
Harbor
Deborah Harbour
Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston
Charleston H201-K
(702) 651-5956
Deborah.Harbour@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Laboratory Coordinator: Honors Microbiology: BIOL 251H
BIOL 196L, Principles of Modern Biology I Laboratory
BIOL 251, General Microbiology
BIOL 251H General Microbiology - Honors
BIOL 299, Special Topics in Biology
Stacks Image 1132
Fred Jackson
Professor
Ph.D., The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
Cheyenne S206-B
(702) 651-4145
fred.jackson@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 223, Human Anatomy and Physiology I
BIOL 224, Human Anatomy and Physiology II
Larson
Shannon Larson
Professor
M.S., Idaho State University
Cheyenne S221-E
(702) 651-4141
shannon.larson@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Faculty Lead for Health Courses: BIOL 223, 224
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 196, Principles of Modern Biology I.
BIOL 223, Human Anatomy and Physiology I
BIOL 224, Human Anatomy and Physiology II
Stacks Image 1162
Pat Leary
Professor
D.A., Idaho State University
Cheyenne S221-H
(702) 651-4140
pat.leary@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 113, Life in the Oceans
BIOL 122, Desert Plants
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 197, Principles of Modern Biology II
Lum
Pam Lum
Professor
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Charleston H-301-B
(702) 651-5042
pam.lum@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 101, General Biology for Non Majors
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 196L, Principles of Modern Biology I Laboratory
BIOL 251, General Microbiology

Mahrt
Matt Mahrt
Professor (Department Chair)
M.S., New Mexico State University
Charleston H-301-H
(702) 651-7515
matthew.mahrt@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 196, Principles of Modern Biology I
BIOL 197, Principles of Modern Biology II
McKenna
Chelsey McKenna
Instructor
Ph.D., Rice University
Cheyenne S221-E
(702) 651-4390
chelsey.mckenna@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Laboratory Coordinator: BIOL 101
BIOL 095, Basic Biology
BIOL 101, General Biology for Non Majors
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science

Merkler
Lois Merkler
Professor (Assistant Department Chair, Henderson)
Ph.D., University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Henderson HNC200-F
(702) 651-3193
Lois.Alexander-Merkler@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 095, Basic Biology
BIOL 101, General Biology for Non Majors
BIOL 116, Natural History
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 197, Principles of Modern Biology II
BIOL 220, Introduction to Ecological Principles
 
Michelson
Rhett Michelson
Professor (Assistant Department Chair, Cheyenne)
Ph.D., Southern Illinois University
Cheyenne S221-B
(702) 651-4569
rhett.michelson@csn.edu email

webpage.png
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Faculty Lead: Majors biology: BIOL 196, 197
Laboratory Coordinator: BIOL 196
BIOL 101, Biology for Non Majors
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 196, Principles of Modern Biology I.
BIOL 224, Human Anatomy and Physiology II

Charles Milne
Professor
Charleston H-301-N
(702) 651-5662
charles.milne@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 223, Human Anatomy and Physiology I
BIOL 224, Human Anatomy and Physiology II
Naaktgeboren
Camille Naaktgeboren
Instructor
Ph.D., Northern Arizona University
Charleston H-201-A
(702) 651-5632
camille.naaktgeboren@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Laboratory Coordinator: BIOL 251, 251H (Honors)
Laboratory Coordinator: BIOL 251
BIOL 101, Biology for Non Majors
BIOL 251, General Microbiology
Nelson
Dawn Nelson
Professor
M.S., Memorial University of Newfoundland
Henderson C-200-B
(702) 651-3138
dawn.nelson@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 101, General Biology for Non Majors
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 196, Principles of Modern Biology I
BIOL 197, Principles of Modern Biology II
Porter
Heidi Porter
Professor
Ph.D., Brigham Young University
Cheyenne S221-D
(702) 651-4137
heidi.porter@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 251, General Microbiology
BIOL 251G, General Microbiology - Honors
Preite
Carrie Preite
Instructor
Ph.D., James Cook University
Cheyenne S221-M
(702) 651-4142
carrie.preite@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Faculty Lead and Laboratory Coordinator: BIOL 189
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 196, Principles of Modern Biology I
BIOL 251, General Microbiology
schlesinger
Minnie Schlesinger
Instructor
M.S., University of Texas at San Antonio
Cheyenne S121-C
(702) 651-4225
Minnie.Schlesinger@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Faculty Lead: BIOL 101
BIOL 101 lab, General Biology for Non Majors
BIOL 121, Nutrition
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 223, Human Anatomy and Physiology I
BIOL 224 lab, Human Anatomy and Physiology II
Signorelli
Denise Signorelli
Professor
Ph.D., University of Kansas
Charleston H-201-L
(702) 651-5895
denise.signorelli@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Lead faculty: staffing
BIOL 121, Nutrition
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 196, Principles of Modern Biology I
BIOL 251, General Microbiology
James Theoret
Instructor
Charleston H-201-P
(702) 651-5689
James.Theoret@csn.eduemail
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 223, Human Anatomy and Physiology I
BIOL 224, Human Anatomy and Physiology II
Ray Thweatt
Professor
Charleston H-201-M
(702) 651-5854
ray.thweatt@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 251, General Microbiology
Stacks Image 2757
Lee Vogel
Professor
Ph.D., University of Calgary
Charleston H-201-B
(702) 651-7507
lee.vogel@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Lead faculty: assessment
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
Wainscott
Brian Wainscott
Professor
M.S., Illinois State University
Charleston H-201-D
(702) 651-5034
brian.wainscott@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Laboratory coordinator: BIOL 197
BIOL 101, Biology for Non-Majors
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 197, Principles of Modern Biology II
BIOL 211, Introduction to Field Biology
BIOL 220, Introduction to Ecological Principles
ENV 101, Introduction to Environmental Science
Erin Windsor picture
Erin Windsor
Instructor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Houston
Cheyenne S221-L
(702) 651-4459
Erin.Windsor@csn.eduemail
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 223, Human Anatomy and Physiology I
BIOL 224, Human Anatomy and Physiology II
Ziemba
Amy Ziemba
Instructor
M.S., Southern Illinois University
Cheyenne S206F
(702) 651-4734
amy.ziemba@csn.edu email
Courses and Other Responsibilities
Faculty Lead: BIOL 095
Science Tutorial Coordinator

BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
BIOL 196, Principles of Modern Biology I

Emeritus

Sue Blizard
Professor, Emeritus
D.A., Idaho State University
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 189, Fundamentals of Life Science
Hicks
Marty Hicks
Professor, Emeritus
M.S., Central Washington University
Courses and Other Responsibilities
BIOL 223, Human Anatomy and Physiology I
BIOL 224, Human Anatomy and Physiology II
Steadman
Richard Steadman
Professor, Emeritus
M.A., University of Montana
Courses and Other Responsibilities

Staff

Cooper
Becky Cooper
Staff (Staff Research Associate II)
Cheyenne S225A
(702) 651-4496
mailto:becky.cooper@csn.edu email
Rozena Downing
Staff (Staff Research Associate II)
West Charleston G-105
(702) 651-5914
mailto:rozena.downing@csn.edu email
Milton Hawthorne
Staff (Development Technician II)
West Charleston G-105
(702) 651-5914
mailto:rozena.downing@csn.edu email
Norma Hernandez
Staff (Administrative Assistant II)
Charleston H-301
(702) 651-5973
norma.hernandez@csn.edu email
Tonuia Jackson
Staff (Staff Research Associate I)
Cheyenne S234
(702) 651-4496
tonuia.jackson@csn.edu email
Kendra Kimberley
Staff (Staff Research Associate II)
West Charleston G-304
(702) 651-5691
kendra.kimberly@csn.edu email
Christopher Prieto
Staff (Staff Research Associate II)
West Charleston G-105
(702) 651-5653
christopher.prieto@csn.edu email
Barbara Purdy
Staff (Staff Research Associate IV)
Charleston G-109
(702) 651-5661
Barbara.Purdy@csn.edu email
Douglas Walton
Staff (Staff Research Associate II)
Cheyenne Modular 1110
(702) 651-4024
douglas.walton@csn.edu email
Whiteley
Jo Whiteley
Staff (Administrative Assistant I)
Cheyenne S221
(702) 651-2607
jo.whiteley@csn.edu email
Charleston Campus (Main Office)

Department of Biological Sciences
Mail Sort W30H
College of Southern Nevada
6375 West Charleston Boulevard
Las Vegas, NV 89146

Telephone: (702) 651-7324
Fax: (702) 651-5818
Department email: norma.hernandez@csn.edu
Cheyenne Campus

Department of Biological Sciences
Mail Sort S2B
College of Southern Nevada
3200 E. Cheyenne Avenue
North Las Vegas, NV 89030

Telephone: (702) 651-2607
Fax: (702) 651-4056
Henderson Campus

Department of Biological Sciences
Mail Sort H3C
College of Southern Nevada
700 College Drive
Henderson, NV 89002
© College of Southern Nevada, Department of Biological Sciences. Terms of use and privacy policy.